Board Members

Wayne Tyson, President, Term Expires: May 2026
Jonathan Cowen Vice President, Term Expires: May 2026
DeBra D. Edwards, Secretary, Term Expires: May 2026
Jared Day, Assistant Vice President, Term Expires: May 2024
John Casey, Assistant Secretary, Term Expires: May 2024


History of MUD 501

Mission Statement

Harris County Municipal Utility District No. 501 (Harris County MUD 501) was created by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality in August 2007, to provide public water, sewer, drainage, and other services to the residents and property owners living within the boundaries of the district. Operating as a municipal utility district, or MUD, allows Harris County MUD 501 the flexibility to customize services and respond to opportunities that benefit our residents. Harris County MUD 501, as a political subdivision of the State of Texas, seeks to:

  • Provide high quality water, sewer, drainage, trash and other services to its residents at a competitive cost;
  • Be responsive to resident questions and requests;
  • Require excellent performance and responsiveness from the consultants and contractors it engages;
  • Display transparency and community outreach by making Harris County MUD 501 documents/meeting information available through this website and encouraging attendance at the District’s board meetings, and town hall meetings;
  • Promote water conservation through communication, education and a water rate structure that  encourages residents to minimize water usage; and
  • Implement a tax rate setting process that ensures adherence with the requirements associated with servicing internal debt, complying with contractual obligations, and providing sufficient revenue for District operations, while at the same time striving to be competitive and responsive to our residents.

Board of Directors Elections

The next directors election is scheduled for Saturday, May 7, 2022. The District will establish the polling place(s) for the election, which will be provided in the Notice of Election.

Applications for a place on the ballot may be filed from January 19, 2022, to 5:00 p.m. local time on February 18, 2022. For information about the requirements for filing for candidacy for a position on the Board, please visit the Texas Secretary of State’s candidate website, at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/candidates/index.shtml.

Elecciones de la Junta Directiva

La próxima elección de directores está programada para el sábado 7 de mayo de 2022; El Distrito establecerá el(los) lugar(es) para la elección, los cuales serán provistos en el Aviso de Elección.

Las solicitudes para un lugar en la boleta de votación pueden presentarse desde el 19 de enero de 2022 hasta las 5:00 p.m. hora local del 18 de febrero de 2022. Para obtener información acerca de los requisitos para presentar la candidatura para una posición en la Junta, sírvase visitar ele sitio web del candidato del Secretario de Estado de Texas en https://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/candidates/index.shtml.

Caùc Cuoäc Baàu Cöû Ban Giaùm Ñoác

Cuoäc baàu cöû caùc giaùm ñoác tieáp theo döï kieán ñöôïc toå chöùc vaøo thöù Baûy, 7 thaùng Naêm, 2022. Cô Quan seõ thieát laäp (caùc) ñòa ñieåm boû phieáu cho cuoäc baàu cöû, vaø thoâng tin veà ñòa ñieåm boû phieáu seõ coù trong Thoâng Baùo Baàu Cöû.

Thôøi gian noäp ñôn xin ghi teân treân laù phieáu laø töø ngaøy 19 thaùng Moät, 2022 ñeán 5 giôø chieàu giôø ñòa phöông ngaøy 18 thaùng Hai, 2022. Ñeå bieát theâm thoâng tin veà caùc yeâu caàu noäp ñôn tranh cöû cho moät ví trí cuûa Ban, vui loøng gheù thaêm website öùng cöû vieân cuûa Toång Tröôûng Tieåu Bang Texas taïi https://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/candidates/index.shtml.




Election Documents

Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot
Aviso de Fecha Limite Para Presentar Solicitudes Para Un Lugar En La Boleta
Thông Báo Han Chot Nop Don Xin Mot Vi Tri Trên Lá Phieáu

These notices will remain posted continuously until 5:00 p.m. February 18, 2022.